Madison, IN Sunny intervals 63°
Listen Live

Are you ready? Total Solar Eclipse on Monday, April 8

Safety tips from INDOT regarding the upcoming eclipse

Hundreds of thousands of eclipse viewers will flock to Indiana as the first total solar eclipse in seven years makes its way across the Hoosier State on Monday, April 8. 

The eclipse will be visible over a large portion of the state, with the path of totality spanning from Evansville to the outskirts of Fort Wayne around 3 p.m. EDT/2 p.m. CDT. Other parts of Indiana will experience a partial eclipse of at least 90 percent totality from approximately 1:30 p.m. EDT/12:30 p.m. CDT to 4:30 EDT/3:30 CDT.

To ensure smooth travel, the Indiana Department of Transportation (INDOT), Indiana State Police (ISP) and Indiana Department of Homeland Security (IDHS) urge drivers to plan ahead and prepare for potential travel impacts before, during and after the eclipse. Click each image below to view a short video with tips on how to get ready.

Before the eclipse

Before the Eclipse

During the eclipse

During the Eclipse

After the eclipse

After the Eclipse

INDOT will limit road closures and restrictions where possible on state routes to help with traffic flow surrounding the eclipse. View current construction and maintenance activities on INDOT’s TrafficWise map (511in.org) or the free mobile app.

Visit the sites below and follow INDOT, ISP and IDHS on social media for more information regarding the total solar eclipse in Indiana.

More from Local News

Events

Local News

Bartholomew County Man Arrested for Child Molesting

Months long investigation led to the arrest

Indiana State Police Investigating Death of Inmate

The investigation remains ongoing

Local Sports

ORVC Weekly Report Summary (April 15 – 20) 2024

Congratulations to all the area athletes that received honors