Schedule shake-up: 2020 NASCAR Cup Series slate gets a makeover

Indianapolis Race Moves To 4th of July Weekend

NASCAR unveiled a retooled 2020 NASCAR Cup Series schedule on Tuesday, releasing a 36-race slate that includes a reimagined Playoffs and new locations for both the Championship Race and the regular-season finale among several other changes.

Kentucky Speedway will host the Cup Series again on the weekend after the 4th of July on Saturday night, July 11th.

One MAJOR change is 4th of July weekend. Normally racing in Daytona, next year they will run Sunday, July 5th at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Daytona will open the season with the 500 on February 16th then run the final race before the playoffs on August 29th.

The Cup Race at Indy could be the same weekend as the Madison Regatta when H1 releases next years schedule.

Another change for next season, the championship race will be at November 8th in  Phoenix. Previously the host of the finale, Homestead-Miami Speedway’s race is slated for March 22.

The full NASCAR Cup Series schedule for 2020:

Date Track
Sunday, Feb. 9 The Clash
Thursday, Feb. 13 Duels at Daytona
Sunday, Feb. 16 Daytona 500
Sunday, Feb. 23 Las Vegas Motor Speedway
Sunday, March 1 Auto Club Speedway
Sunday, March 8 ISM Raceway
Sunday, March 15 Atlanta Motor Speedway
Sunday, March 22 Homestead-Miami Speedway
Sunday, March 29 Texas Motor Speedway
Sunday, April 5 Bristol Motor Speedway
Sunday, April 12 OFF
Sunday, April 19 Richmond Raceway
Sunday, April 26 Talladega Superspeedway
Sunday, May 3 Dover International Speedway
Saturday, May 9 Martinsville Speedway
Saturday, May 16 All-Star Race at Charlotte
Sunday, May 24 Charlotte Motor Speedway
Sunday, May 31 Kansas Speedway
Sunday, June 7 Michigan International Speedway
Sunday, June 14 Sonoma Raceway
Sunday, June 21 Chicagoland Speedway
Saturday, June 27 Pocono Raceway
Sunday, June 28 Pocono Raceway
Sunday, July 5 Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Saturday, July 11 Kentucky Speedway
Sunday, July 19 New Hampshire Motor Speedway
Sunday, July 26 OFF
Sunday, Aug. 2 OFF
Sunday, Aug. 9 Michigan International Speedway
Sunday, Aug. 16 Watkins Glen International
Sunday, Aug. 23 Dover International Speedway
Saturday, Aug. 29 Daytona International Speedway
Sunday, Sept. 6 Darlington Raceway
Saturday, Sept. 12 Richmond Raceway
Saturday, Sept. 19 Bristol Motor Speedway
Sunday, Sept. 27 Las Vegas Motor Speedway
Sunday, Oct. 4 Talladega Superspeedway
Sunday, Oct. 11 Charlotte Motor Speedway
Sunday, Oct. 18 Kansas Speedway
Sunday, Oct. 25 Texas Motor Speedway
Sunday, Nov. 1 Martinsville Speedway
Sunday, Nov. 8 ISM Raceway

More from Sports News

Events

  • Summer Meals For Kids

    June 3- July 26 (no meals July 4 & 5) Lunches served from noon-12:40 daily for kids 18 and under Hanover sites: Hanover Town Park and Madison Mobile Home Park/Woodside Madison sites: Presidential Estates and Madison Village Sponsored by River Valley Resources

    at Hanover Town Park
  • Water Aerobics class

    Crystal Beach is offering Water Aerobics classes again this year. Mondays/Wednesdays/Fridays-9a-10a Tuesdays/Thursdays 7p-8p Bring your own noodle. No children allowed in or around pool during classes Classes are $2 per session or $30 for season pass If you purchase a season pool pass-aerobics class is included at no additional charge

    at Crystal Beach Pool
  • Water Aerobics class

    Crystal Beach is offering Water Aerobics classes again this year. Mondays/Wednesdays/Fridays-9a-10a Tuesdays/Thursdays 7p-8p Bring your own noodle. No children allowed in or around pool during classes Classes are $2 per session or $30 for season pass If you purchase a season pool pass-aerobics class is included at no additional charge

    at Crystal Beach Pool

Local News

CITY ANNOUNCES “NATIONAL NIGHT OUT” EVENT

“National Night Out is an annual community-building campaign that promotes police-community partnerships and neighborhood camaraderie to make our neighborhoods safer. It provides a great opportunity to bring police and neighbors together under positive circumstances.”

Local Sports

OVERTIME BATTLE BETWEEN BUSCH BROTHERS DECIDES QUAKER STATE 400 WINNER

Kurt beat Kyle to the finish line by 0.076 of a second

Custer scores Xfinity Series leading fifth victory in Alsco 300

SUAREZ LEADS STEWART-HAAS RACING FRONT ROW SWEEP IN QUALIFYING QUAKER STATE 400 PRESENTED BY WALMART

Buckle Up In Your Truck 225 Produces First-Time Winner in Ankrum

Kentucky Speedway’s tripleheader race weekend continues tonight with the NASCAR Xfinity Series’ Alsco 300