Madison, IN Thundery shower 75°
Listen Live

Schedule shake-up: 2020 NASCAR Cup Series slate gets a makeover

Indianapolis Race Moves To 4th of July Weekend

NASCAR unveiled a retooled 2020 NASCAR Cup Series schedule on Tuesday, releasing a 36-race slate that includes a reimagined Playoffs and new locations for both the Championship Race and the regular-season finale among several other changes.

Kentucky Speedway will host the Cup Series again on the weekend after the 4th of July on Saturday night, July 11th.

One MAJOR change is 4th of July weekend. Normally racing in Daytona, next year they will run Sunday, July 5th at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Daytona will open the season with the 500 on February 16th then run the final race before the playoffs on August 29th.

The Cup Race at Indy could be the same weekend as the Madison Regatta when H1 releases next years schedule.

Another change for next season, the championship race will be at November 8th in  Phoenix. Previously the host of the finale, Homestead-Miami Speedway’s race is slated for March 22.

The full NASCAR Cup Series schedule for 2020:

Date Track
Sunday, Feb. 9 The Clash
Thursday, Feb. 13 Duels at Daytona
Sunday, Feb. 16 Daytona 500
Sunday, Feb. 23 Las Vegas Motor Speedway
Sunday, March 1 Auto Club Speedway
Sunday, March 8 ISM Raceway
Sunday, March 15 Atlanta Motor Speedway
Sunday, March 22 Homestead-Miami Speedway
Sunday, March 29 Texas Motor Speedway
Sunday, April 5 Bristol Motor Speedway
Sunday, April 12 OFF
Sunday, April 19 Richmond Raceway
Sunday, April 26 Talladega Superspeedway
Sunday, May 3 Dover International Speedway
Saturday, May 9 Martinsville Speedway
Saturday, May 16 All-Star Race at Charlotte
Sunday, May 24 Charlotte Motor Speedway
Sunday, May 31 Kansas Speedway
Sunday, June 7 Michigan International Speedway
Sunday, June 14 Sonoma Raceway
Sunday, June 21 Chicagoland Speedway
Saturday, June 27 Pocono Raceway
Sunday, June 28 Pocono Raceway
Sunday, July 5 Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Saturday, July 11 Kentucky Speedway
Sunday, July 19 New Hampshire Motor Speedway
Sunday, July 26 OFF
Sunday, Aug. 2 OFF
Sunday, Aug. 9 Michigan International Speedway
Sunday, Aug. 16 Watkins Glen International
Sunday, Aug. 23 Dover International Speedway
Saturday, Aug. 29 Daytona International Speedway
Sunday, Sept. 6 Darlington Raceway
Saturday, Sept. 12 Richmond Raceway
Saturday, Sept. 19 Bristol Motor Speedway
Sunday, Sept. 27 Las Vegas Motor Speedway
Sunday, Oct. 4 Talladega Superspeedway
Sunday, Oct. 11 Charlotte Motor Speedway
Sunday, Oct. 18 Kansas Speedway
Sunday, Oct. 25 Texas Motor Speedway
Sunday, Nov. 1 Martinsville Speedway
Sunday, Nov. 8 ISM Raceway

More from Sports News

Events

  • River Roots 2019 Music Series Music & Arts Festival

    December 15: Red Bicycle Hall Steve Poltz- 8pm 17$/20$ January 26: Red Bicycle Hall Lineup Announcement Part The Banditos- 8pm 10$/12$ February 15: Red Bicycle Hall The Tillers/ Arlo Mckinley & The Lonesome Sound- 8pm 10$/12$ March 29: Red Bicycle Hall Possessed By Paul James/ Special Guest Willy Tea Taylor- 8pm 17$/20$ April 26: Red Bicycle Hall Chicago Farmer- 8pm 10$/12$ May 18: Red Bicycle Hall Wild Ponies- 8pm 10$/12$

    at Red Bicycle Hall
  • Volunteer Firefighters Needed

    Madison Township Volunteer Fire Department is in need of volunteers. If you've ever wanted to become a volunteer firefighter or want to learn more, call 812-273-4100 or stop by the firehouse on Michigan Road.

    at Madison Township Volunteer Fire Company
  • Early Bird single pool passes for Crystal Beach`

    The City of Madison Parks and Recreation Department is once again offering early bird single pool passes for Crystal Beach. The passes are $40 each March 1 through May 24. These can abe purchased at the Brown Gym. Starting May 25th, single passes will be $50 each. Any questions, contact the Parks Office at (812)265-8308

    at Brown Gym on Broadway

Local News

Another Drug Arrest At A Scottsburg Restaurant

Foot pursuit leads to arrest of Deputy man

Shelter In Place For Some Gallatin And Switzerland Co. Residents Has Now Been Cancelled

Residents from Ghent to Markland Lock & Dam on both sides of the Ohio River

Local Sports

Area Sports Results For Monday, April 22nd

High school and college round-up

Area Sports Results From Thursday, April 18th

Baseball, softball, tennis, track round-up

Area Sports Results From Wednesday, April 17th

Baseball, softball, tennis round-up